Review of Baby Bargains, 8th Edition

I never knew that a book such as Baby Bargains existed. During my first pregnancy, which was over 13 years ago, I simply shopped cheap and without recommendations or reviews. Before my first child’s birth, I didn’t even own a computer. Her crib came from a local church’s garage sale and her changing table was from a thrift store. Of course, this was in the time before everything nice that came to a thrift store was sold online. And I never heard warnings about purchasing used cribs or older furniture. Luckily, she rarely used her crib and we only found the changing table useful for the first month or so after she was born.

Now that I am older and having my second child, I have researched and reviewed everything. And my husband and I are doing things quite differently. So, when I came across other parents mentioning a book called Baby Bargains, I kind of ignored it, thinking that I didn’t need a book to tell me how to find bargains. Then, more parents mentioned that the book had valuable reviews of products within it. So, I thought I’d check it out from the local library to see if it was really valuable to me. And I was amazed when I started to read the book.

The title is very misleading. This book isn’t simply about finding bargains for baby items. It has great information for first time parents, as well as those of us that have not been parents of babies for a while. As a second-time mom, I thought that I already knew what I would and would not need. But there were many things that I forgot. For example, with my first I was a stay-at-home mom for some time, and with this baby I plan to go back to work as soon as possible. This means rethinking supplies and equipment a little bit. And things are really different now than they were with my first. There are new types of strollers, baby carriers, breast pumps, and more…and I needed information about all of them. This book even includes some information on cloth diapering, which I plan to do this time. Additionally, I also found some great links in the book to some of the best Websites for parents or that directed to further information on products or reviews.

I highly recommend this book to all parents about to purchase or make a baby registry for baby furniture, clothes, or equipment! If you don’t want to spend the money for it, even though it isn’t very expensive, check your local library. I finished reading through the book two days after borrowing it. I plan to read Baby 411 next!

And if you don’t believe me, read all 800+ reviews on Google Books.

Baby Bargains Website: http://www.windsorpeak.com/babybargains/

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Reviews

One response to “Review of Baby Bargains, 8th Edition

  1. The secrets to saving tons of money—and how not to waste money on frivolous or sub par purchases— reference book. Aisha Other

Leave a Reply

